The Land of Fernieville

The math of losing weight

Posted in Daily, Health, Weight Loss by fernieville on January 3, 2008

So here is the math of losing weight. To lose 1lb of fat I need to burn 3500 calories. So 500 calories per day per week means I lose 1lb of fat. Ok now I need to figure out how much I burn just plain sitting on my butt. For that I must calculate my BMR or Basal Metabolic Rate. While I sit on my bottom I “burn” 2,041 calories. So because my intake is 1530 calories, I’m guaranteed through no work whatsoever, to lose a pound of fat a week. Not bad. Now if I can add exercise of just say 300 calories per day, I can enjoy a couple of chocolate protein shakes and still lose weight. Sweet.

Now for my grand exercise plan: The uni has all these exercise classes, but they are at night..freaking undergrads. I’m a mom, so that’s out of the question. But they do have AM PE classes…all of which are filled. So I have to wait during drop-add time and hope the undergrads drop the Advanced Swimming class. Yes you heard it right, advanced swimming. Turns out that chubby over here was a tom-boy sports fanatic as a kid/teen…bordering, er well over the ADD mark for a kid my age. My parents couldn’t keep me still. How I ended up sitting on my butt all day is a mystery, but thinking back to the glory days I was an excellent swimmer with big powerful thighs that got me a lot of first places in breast stroke and butterfly. Fast forward 15 years and I have big powerful thighs that keep me in place while I stroke the computer keypad…and thus my current state.

Besides swimming I was thinking about doing weights….I hate weights. I hate the gym. It’s boring, monotonous, slow, platitudinous, vapid, dull and did I mention boring? So for my working out program I have me in a bathing suit and me in a boring gym. yay. I need to find a goal…something to get excited over so that I do these and THEN I can do my goal BECAUSE I did these. Anyone have any ideas? Maybe I need to enter some sort of sporting event or the Mrs. Geek USA pageant rofl.

Today’s report (day 3) BMR 2041 Calories eaten 1413 Calorie Deficit 599

 

World Revolves Around Me

Leave a Reply

