The Land of Fernieville

tuncfgd and HamachiX

Posted in Daily by fernieville on January 30, 2008

I finally figured out why my MBP has been soooo slow! Turns out that a left over program from my PBG4/Tiger migration had some dumb daemon running from a program called HamachiX.

HamachiX is an excellent program, but now that Leopard has “Back to my Mac” and I have a .Mac account, HamachiX hasn’t been used in months.

So in my Console log files it looked like this:

1/29/08 11:39:54 PM tuncfgd[6864] tuncfg: already running, use ‘killall tuncfg; tuncfg’ to restart it
1/29/08 11:39:54 PM com.apple.launchd[1] (tuncfgd[6864]) Exited with exit code: 1
1/29/08 11:39:54 PM com.apple.launchd[1] (tuncfgd) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds
1/29/08 11:40:04 PM tuncfgd[6865] tuncfg: already running, use ‘killall tuncfg; tuncfg’ to restart it
1/29/08 11:40:04 PM com.apple.launchd[1] (tuncfgd[6865]) Exited with exit code: 1
1/29/08 11:40:04 PM com.apple.launchd[1] (tuncfgd) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds

So here is the solution:

Open HamachiX

Go into Help, System Support, Uninstall System Components

Now you can uninstall Hamachi if you want, if not, you’ll have to install every time you want to use it. Editing the tuncfgd.plist (from Apple Help forums) didn’t work even after rebooting and restarting launchd.

Hope this helps!

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Isa said, on March 3, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Hey thanks! I was having the same problem and now, its fixed.

  2. Jorekk said, on May 11, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    I have this problem too, thanks for solution 🙂

  3. sintheta said, on June 3, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Lordy, I have my computer back!

  4. fernieville said, on June 3, 2008 at 8:58 am

    glad it worked for you guys!

  5. scott said, on June 7, 2008 at 7:14 am

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=325872

    Adding -d to the launch daemon command seems to solve it for me.

  6. Scott Motte said, on June 25, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Thank you. This worked for me as well.

  7. Typhoon Andrew said, on July 1, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Also much thanks, and a ping back shortly. You’ve really helped.

  8. […] HamachiX in ages, so had to find a way to turn this sucker off. The solution was in a blog post by Fernieville, on Jan 30th […]

  9. fernieville said, on July 1, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Awesome! Glad it helped ya 🙂

  10. Markus said, on November 25, 2008 at 10:56 am

    Long time since the post was made, but still oh so helpful!
    Glad i found it, i believe this finally solved my crazy tuncfg process! 🙂

  11. Larry said, on May 4, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Hi, I tried this mac version of Hamachi and ended up removing everything, or so I thought. I keep getting the same message in console now that you guys got, only I can’t use the uninstall components option because it’s greyed out. And when I try to install components option under help, it gives me some installation dodgy error and says it can’t complete so i can’t even install them to uninstall them. When I try the kill all command like console says, it says I have to have superuser permissions? What the heck is that? I am the only user and have admin priveleges so what gives?

    Model Name: iMac
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Memory: 3 GB
    OS: Leopard 10.5.6


Leave a Reply

