The Land of Fernieville

100% Fans Leopard OSX – fix

Posted in Apple, Mac, MacBook Pro by fernieville on May 19, 2008
Didn’t know why my computer’s fans were blaring, and when I went to Activity Monitor nothing was 100% (as in memory leaky Java apps like Eclipse ugh).

Anyhow, I found a post about it being a printer job stuck on send… looked around my printer queue and it was empty, but for good measure I deleted them all…all the printers that is.

Nope, fans still at 6000rpm EACH. (use smcFanControl to see it)

So I went back to my Activity Monitor and looking around found three instances (a couple with little printer icons next to them) that had (null) for a name at 0.2 CPU or 1.0 CPU. WTF?

I quit the three (null) processes…and whaddayaknow? Fans slowed to 2000rpms. Freaking Leopard is starting to remind me of an archaic OS I used a long time ago called windows…wasted 2 hours on this little problem last night!

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

